History of Mansfield-et-Pontefract

Mansfield-et-Pontefract, is a Quebec municipality with an area of 525 km2, located in the MRC Pontiac in the Outaouais and surrounding the village of Fort-Coulonge.

It’s in 1849 that the township of Mansfield was born to become  years later in 1855 the Municipality of the township of  Mansfield. The first of January 1868  the
Township of Mansfield unites with the township of Pontefract to create the Municipality  of Mansfield-et-Pontefract. The township of Pontefract was officially founded in 1863.

Historically, according to Jame White, the name of Mansfield Township was attributed in honor of Sir James Mansfield, then Solicitor General in 1780, who lived from 1733 to 1821. Others think That Mansfield’s name was given to honor William Murray, who would be the first count of Mansfield. The mystery remains about the origin of the name given to the Township of Mansfield.

Has for the Township of Pontefract, it would take its origin from a city located in Yorkshire in England.

The Municipality of Mansfield-et-Pontefract, is divided into several sectors including Davidson, Saint-Camille, Bois Franc (which was on the township of Pontefract), the project Amyotte, Lac de la Truite, Lac Jim, Lac Galarneau , Les Chute Coulonge and le grand Marais In total, the municipality has 12 sectors.

The first mayor of the Municipality of Mansfield-et-Pontefract, was George Bryson, it is in his honor that the Bryson House, near the city hall,was named after him.

Our Mayors

Since 1855, many mayors have succeeded at The Mansfield City Hall.

Discover here the list of elected mayors from the years 1855 to the present.

List of mayors